Corbett Community Forum
March 29, 2024, 06:37:04 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How is Corbett School District to survive? Nov 17, CSB meeting.  (Read 7427 times)
Oscar

« on: November 19, 2010, 09:56:29 AM »

I attended the last school board meeting and I hope this post will generate the discussion I've seen in emails since then in regard to the future of CSD.  Here's some info in regard to emails I've pasted at end:
The hot topics center around our children's education, finances and local control.
Finance: I've been attending CSB meetings regularly for the past two years and don't question the District's conclusion that they'll be short about $600,000 for the 2011/12 school year.  Dr. Trani outlined three pathways to solve the shortages:  1) make deeper cuts next year, but keep going with existing model;  2) Consolidate with Reynolds: 3) Year around school for high school and adding up to 300 h.s. students from out of district through existing or new charter school(s).

Option 3 is not possible unless more classroom space is found.  That could happen in 2012/13 with a remodeled Springdale School.  But, having more students could generate around $600,000 extra.
Option 2 has Corbett community losing control of their schools and probably the high school.
Option 1 has other pathways and Dr. Trani welcomes ideas to keep that model.  The CSB wishes patrons to lobby the State legislature for more school funds.  Shall the District put another bond levy on the ballot in May? - also voting on two new board members then.